SSL Certificate: A Complete Insight

The internet has experienced exponential growth, becoming an integral aspect of daily life. As more individuals rely on the web for communication, shopping, and other activities, ensuring the security and privacy of online activities is of utmost importance. One such security measure that has gained prominence is the SSL certificate.

What is SSL?

Secure Sockets Layer (SSL) is a cryptographic protocol that establishes a secure and encrypted connection between a client (such as a web browser) and a server (such as a website). SSL certificates are small data files that digitally bind a cryptographic key to an organization’s details. When installed on a web server, they enable a secure connection, ensuring that all data passed between the web server and browser remains private and secure.

How Can You Reach The Information that an SSL Certificate Contains?

In most web browsers, clicking on the padlock icon in the address bar allows users to view the details of a website’s SSL certificate. This information includes the issuing authority, the validity period, and the encryption details.

How do SSL Certificates Work to Protect User Data and Privacy?

When a browser attempts to access a website secured with an SSL certificate, the following process takes place:

  1. The browser requests the server to identify itself.
  2. The server sends a copy of its SSL certificate to the browser.
  3. The browser checks the certificate’s validity and trusts the issuing Certificate Authority (CA).
  4. The browser generates a unique symmetric encryption key and sends it to the server encrypted with the server’s public key.
  5. The server decrypts the key using its private key and sends an acknowledgment encrypted with the browser’s symmetric key.
  6. The browser and server now have a secure and encrypted connection using the symmetric key.

Example of SSL Pathing:

Types of SSL Certificates

Various Validation Levels

SSL certificates come in three primary validation levels, depending on the amount of information required and the level of trust they provide:

Domain Validation (DV) SSL Certificate:

DV SSL certificates provide the lowest level of validation. The Certificate Authority only verifies that the applicant has control over the domain. No information about the organization is checked, making this type of certificate suitable for small websites or blogs where no sensitive information is exchanged.

Organization Validation (OV) SSL Certificate:

OV SSL certificates require the Certificate Authority to validate the organization’s existence, its physical location, and domain ownership. This certificate type is appropriate for businesses that want to provide a higher level of trust to their customers without undergoing the rigorous process of obtaining an EV SSL certificate.

Extended Validation (EV) SSL Certificate:

EV SSL certificates offer the highest level of trust and validation. The Certificate Authority conducts an extensive background check on the organization, ensuring it is a legitimate and trustworthy entity. This certificate type is recommended for e-commerce websites, banks, and other organizations handling sensitive user data.

Different Number Of Domains/Subdomains

SSL certificates can also be categorized based on the number of domains or subdomains they can secure:

Single-Domain Certificates:

These certificates secure only one fully qualified domain name (FQDN), such as or

Wildcard Certificates:

Wildcard SSL certificates secure an unlimited number of subdomains under a single domain, such as * This covers,, and any other subdomain. The advantage of a wildcard certificate is that it allows organizations to secure multiple subdomains without needing to obtain and manage multiple SSL certificates. However, it is important to note that wildcard certificates only apply to subdomains at a single level and do not cover nested subdomains (e.g.,

Multi-domain/SAN SSL Certificate:

Multi-domain or Subject Alternative Name (SAN) SSL certificates can secure multiple domain names with a single certificate, making them ideal for organizations with multiple websites or brands. These certificates simplify SSL management and reduce costs by allowing administrators to secure multiple domains using one certificate. The domains can be added or removed during the certificate’s lifetime, offering flexibility as an organization’s needs change.

Unified Communications Certificate (UCC):

UCC SSL certificates are specifically designed for Microsoft Exchange and Microsoft Office Communications Server environments. They can secure multiple domain names and hostnames within a single certificate, which is particularly useful for organizations that need to secure both internal and external domain names. UCC certificates provide a cost-effective and efficient way to secure communication in these Microsoft environments.


SSL certificates play a crucial role in ensuring the security and privacy of online communications. With various types of SSL certificates available, organizations can choose the right level of validation and coverage to meet their specific requirements. By understanding the different types of SSL certificates, organizations can make informed decisions to protect their online presence and instill confidence in their users.

Additional Resources

These resources provide valuable information, tools, and services for obtaining and managing SSL certificates, ensuring secure connections, and promoting a more secure and privacy-focused internet. By exploring these resources, you can gain a deeper understanding of SSL certificates and their role in securing online communications.

  • Let’s Encrypt: A non-profit organization providing free Domain Validation (DV) SSL certificates to promote a more secure internet.
  • DigiCert: A leading Certificate Authority offering a wide range of SSL certificates, including DV, OV, and EV options.
  • GlobalSign: A global provider of SSL certificates and other identity and security solutions for businesses and individuals.
  • SSL Labs: Offers tools to test SSL configurations, assess server vulnerabilities, and provide guidance on best practices for SSL implementation.
  • Mozilla SSL Configuration Generator: A tool for generating secure SSL configurations tailored for specific web servers and environments.
  • Comodo SSL: A popular SSL certificate provider offering various certificate types, including DV, OV, and EV certificates.
  • Thawte: A Certificate Authority providing SSL certificates and other digital security products for websites and organizations.
  • GeoTrust: A global Certificate Authority offering SSL certificates and other digital security solutions for businesses and individuals.

Share to...